33/54 – It’s a bird! It’s a plane! It’s… an engineer?

Directive: Archetypes

Archetype: The Defender

What would the world do without the masked engineer protecting us from the perils of night driving? Often times we fall into a false sense of security, we forget what it was like without our hero to defend us from the risks of the road. I remember one night, I was driving down an unlit, single lane road and I saw him. There was something in the road, I couldn’t make it out in the blackness, but it was blocking the lane. That’s when something moved so fast, I couldn’t make it out, it was a blur in the night. I tried following the figure with my eyes, but they quickly snapped back to the road in fear of hitting the black form on my path. I gasped with disbelief–the form was gone. I later realized this was the work of the masked engineer, whom I’d only ever thought of as urban legend until that night. I had heard stories my whole life about the engineer who spent his nights helping drivers in need. A women who’s tire was flattened, found her tire to be miraculously patched and filled with air before she could call for help. A man who swears his breaks went out, but the car miraculously made its way to a safe stop, instead of swerving off the road.

The legend has it that this masked hero is a regular guy, an engineer, by day. It’s been rumored that he has a German accent, linking him to German car brand, Volkswagen. Just who this masked engineer is, we may never know. All we know is that he’s there for us in our time of need, and for that, we are forever grateful.

IMG_4041.JPG

Leave a comment